Last updated:05/18/2020 - 13:45
Eastern Partnership
Fookuse peateema sisu

The Eastern Partnership, initiated by six East-European countries, was launched in 2009 as a specific Eastern dimension of the European Neighbourhood Policy. The six Eastern European partners are Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine and Belarus.

The programme does not have a separate administrative unit or secretariat, it is coordinated by the Directorate-General for Neighbourhood and Enlargement Negotiations (DG NEAR) and the European Commission.

The Eastern Partnership aims to create political, economical and cultural ties, thus enabling the Partner countries to cooperate with the EU. The Partnership is based on respecting the principles of international law and common basic values: democracy, rule of law, respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms, free market economy. For Estonia also, the Eastern Partnership is a priority issue in development cooperation.

Keywords: Eastern Partnership, Eastern-European countries, Eastern European partners, enlargement negotiations, international cooperation, neighbourhood policy

Hashtags: #idapartnerlus, #EaP, #easternpartnership, #EUneighbours


Used texts:
Euroopa Ülemkogu. Euroopa Liidu Nõukogu: Idapartnerlus
Eesti Idapartnerluse Keskus: Idapartnerlus

Editor: Inger Vaguri